Author Topic: invalid initial Mfg DB State  (Read 307 times)

tdeneau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-1
invalid initial Mfg DB State
« on: January 06, 2017, 07:26:44 PM »
I am seeing this error consistently now on a 1-tile run, although I managed to do a successful one tile run yesterday.  I do always run jAppInitRstr.sh from client1 before starting the 1-tile specvirt run.

Exception encountered in auditor.validateInitialValues(). Aborting.
java.rmi.RemoteException: Failure in calling validateInitialValues() java.rmi.RemoteException: Invalid initial Mfg DB State


Do I need to rebuild the database on dbserver1?

Is there a quick way to discover this "invalid initial Mfg DB State" problem rather than waiting for it to happen during the specvirt run?

(I do check for Atomicity Tests before the run and those pass).

-- Tom

lroderic

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: invalid initial Mfg DB State
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2017, 01:20:25 PM »
Tom, I've run into this error in the past. The only way I could get around it was to recreate and reload the entire dbserver. Sorry I don't have a better answer.

Lisa

tdeneau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: invalid initial Mfg DB State
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2017, 02:20:52 PM »
Yes, that's what I ended up doing.  Thanks.

Tom, I've run into this error in the past. The only way I could get around it was to recreate and reload the entire dbserver. Sorry I don't have a better answer.

Lisa

AnoopGupta

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: invalid initial Mfg DB State
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2017, 03:05:03 PM »
Reload the DB should work, recreate should not be necessary. Ensure you update your backup with the newly loaded db for restore to work after that.

tdeneau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: invalid initial Mfg DB State
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2017, 03:18:49 PM »
Anoop, what does "reload the DB" mean here?
I am only familiar with re-creating (which creates backup copy as well) and restoring it

Reload the DB should work, recreate should not be necessary. Ensure you update your backup with the newly loaded db for restore to work after that.

AnoopGupta

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: invalid initial Mfg DB State
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2017, 02:13:23 PM »
Reload the DB means that you would skip recreating the tables/indexes. However, if you are only familiar with recreating, better to stick to that.

MomotaroLow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • แทงบอลออนไลน์
Re: invalid initial Mfg DB State
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2017, 04:08:05 AM »

ontrol: aggregate al(PrimeControl.java udit..for 1 masters to fin