Skip navigation

Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation

Facebook logo LinkedIn logo Twitter logo

The 2019 Kaivalya Dixit Distinguished Dissertation Award Winners

The Kaivalya Dixit Distinguished Dissertation Award, named in memory of SPEC's long-time president Kaivalya Dixit, honors outstanding dissertations within the scope of the SPEC Research Group.

Based on the high quality of submissions, the SPEC Research Group selection committee decided to also publicly recognize a runner-up award winner and two honorable mention winners.

Dr. Guanpeng Li

Award winner: Dr. Guanpeng Li, University of British Columbia

The winning dissertation — Understanding and Modeling Error Propagation in Programs — was authored by by Dr. Guanpeng Li of the University of British Columbia, under the supervision of Prof. Karthik Pattabiraman. The selection committee was especially impressed with the intellectual merit, potential impact, quality, and clarity of Dr. Li's dissertation.

Dr. Bin Nie

Runner-up award: Dr. Bin Nie, College of William & Mary

The runner-up dissertation is titled GPGPU Reliability Analysis: From Applications to Large Scale Systems, by Dr. Bin Nie under the supervision of Prof. Evgenia Smirni at the College of William & Mary. The awards committee hailed Dr. Nie's thesis as a perfect example of bridging the gap between theory and practice.

Honorable mention awards

The selection committee gave honorable mentions to two other works: Hybrid, Job-Aware and Preemptive Data Center Schedulers by Pamela Delgado from École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), under the supervision of Prof. Willy Zwaenepoel; and A First-Principles Approach to Performance, Power, and Energy Models for Contemporary Multi- and Many-Core Processors by Dr. Johannes Hofmann from Friedrich-Alexander Universitat Erlangen-Nurnberg, under the supervision of Prof. Gerhard Wellein.